TST: Numismatics

Posted on Updated on

A TableSmith Tuesday post!  Huzzah!  I have returned.  That thing called work, interrupted me yet again, but I am an amateur blogger so it comes and goes.  Originally the idea had been to be finished with Graveyard.tab in time for Halloween, but that fell through.  Right now I am determined to work finish this new ‘Hoard Project’ for the Month of October.  As part of the October RPG Blog Carnival.  Here is the first TableSmith Tuesday post on the project.  You can get the Table here.

I started with a table that had these:

;Organization
1,piles
1,scattered
1,bagged in pouches
1,stored in chests
1,stacked
1,bundled
1,heaped
1,pyramid
1,mound
1,stored in barrels

I was getting weird results on my output:

A tiny amount of coins in bundled
A small amount of coins in scattered
A huge amount of coins in heaped
A huge amount of coins in bagged in pouches

That is totally unacceptable!  Ugh!  So
I needed to go back and edit my original table to make it sound appropriately.  Here’s the original display section:


: Display
1,A %sCollectionSize% amount of coins
in %sOrganization%<br>
_ The coins are %sAge% in %sCondition%

By taking the “in” out and getting
this as my display:


: Display
1,A %sCollectionSize% amount of coins
%sOrganization%<br>
_ The coins are %sAge% in %sCondition%

So I had to fix my grammar and came up with this group:


;Organization
1,in piles
1,are scattered about
1,are bagged in pouches
1,are stored in chests
1,have arranged in stacks
1,has been bundled
1,is in heaps
1,has been organized in a pyramid
1,has been put in mounds
1,are stored in barrels

Now that I have built a little description of the ‘loot’ it’s time to take a little closer look at the coins themselves.  We want them to tell more of the story of the collection of the coins.  This is where the table is going to get a little exciting, Why do we have all the coins?  Or what’s the collection all about?  Well, Origin is pretty Simple [Countries.Start]!  I love having all my nations organized in that table!  The next one?  Year.  Well, I don’t want to shoe string you, so I just put whether it was a certain year, or  a span of years. Subject is a little more interesting for us to look at.  I wasn’t quite sure how I was going to do this part then, AHA!  I went right back to that most Excellent Miscellaneous.tab that Valminder and many TS writers have worked on we have something that might just work. [Miscellaneous.Shape].  And Whaaat?!?! right above that group is one that could excellently too!  [Miscellaneous.Ruler]

We might want to know what kind of metal the coin is made of.  I thought briefly of adding my own ‘metal’ group but I knew that there was one lying about it in the Miscellaneous.tab so I took a quick look at it, and it’s a weighted table! Excellent!  That means that we are going to get common coin metals more often the rare metals.

Then I followed a couple of quick suggestions of mine from the Numismatic Table I posted yesterday, and added a weight classification, and a shape of the coin classification.  Here’s a couple of examples of the results:

A huge amount of coins in piles
The coins are Freshly-Minted in ( Circulated
– Choice Very Fine )
Collection Identifier: the only thing tying this
collection together is the metal (brass)

A tiny amount of coins is in heaps
The coins are Ancient in ( Mint – Perfect
Uncirculated )
Collection Identifier: the only rhyme to the collection are
the years they a printed

A large amount of coins are stored in barrels
The coins are Modern in ( Mint
– Perfect Uncirculated )
Collection Identifier: all the coins seem to be of a
small size

So you TST Readers, what would you add to make this Numismatic Collection more interesting?

2 thoughts on “TST: Numismatics

    Steven Allen said:
    October 11, 2011 at 11:17 am

    This is a good start. I am transcribing material from an old 2E Ruins of Undermountain compaign, and a table like this would have been very handy for the DM. A DM that runs any kind of adventure where a large number of coins could be found would benefit from this table. I like the idea of stating the coins circulated status as well as the condition. I would recommend adding “collector value” and the possibility of “shaved” and “counterfeit” coins. I would also recommend a trip to the local library for some good books on numismatics.

      TheRandomDM responded:
      October 11, 2011 at 11:30 am

      Initially when I started writing the table I was going to do a value modifier. You’ll see the remnants of it in the table itself. But I didn’t want to shoe horn too much into the table. As I continue the Hoard Project, I will probably revisit the table and add more too it.

      In regards to more numismatic properties, I did some research into it. And it seemed that the biggest property was based on the condition of the coin. And that other value was intrinsic to the collector, and difficult to evaluate. Also, display methods seemed like they wouldn’t fit into a Hoard type collection.

Leave a Reply

