Some afterhoard thoughts – looking fowards too.

Posted on Updated on

So, of course stumbling around looking @ my stats I noticed the link from Mithril & Mages, and I had this one on the backburner for awhile, I am going to upgrade to a paid account/selfhosting so I can do some more widgets, stat tracking, and more! Mostly I want to get some php and mysql live so that I can get some of these tables as actual generators. I know there are a lot of ‘generator’ sites out there, but I want my own!

Never fear though, I will continue posting the tables as I have, because I think its a unique concept and while some OSR’ers are posting this or that table, noone FOCUSES on random tables like me!

But what I will do is integrate some coolness into it. Much like Digital Orc did with the google spreadsheet; I’ll create user input interfaces for the generator, so that the audience can input more details and make it robust.

So that’s something to look forward too when this Hoard project wraps up here at the end of the month.

3 thoughts on “Some afterhoard thoughts – looking fowards too.

    Mark said:
    October 19, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    Best of luck with the upgrade. I look forward to seeing some cool generators based on your diverse set of existing tables. I tend to use sqlite rather than mysql for my generator back ends. I like the lightweight nature.

      TheRandomDM responded:
      October 19, 2011 at 9:03 pm

      it’s something I have been debating for awhile now. Do I spend the time and effort to build the backside? Is it worthwhile? But I really want my blog/website to be a destination for lovers of random generators. It’s one of the reasons that I launched the TST. Because there are some fantastic table in the archives, but use and interest seems to have waned. But I love coding projects and random tables, so that won out.

        Mark said:
        November 10, 2011 at 6:59 pm

        I’m a slacker on responding. My answer is equally confusing because it all depends. The backside is never revealed to anyone so what it should be comes down to the utilization of features. I lean toward sqlite because I develop on any of 3 machines. I can just copy the database from machine to machine and never have to configure a sql server to serve the data.

        On the downside, it doesn’t support all SQL statements. I’ve yet to see one not supported that I needed. However, if you are running a blog in tandem, you already have a database server setup and running. You can utilize it for everything. I chose to keep the two separate but doing so is only a matter of preference.

Leave a Reply

